MNJ history    




Prudential Financial Presents 

The Hartford Jazz Society’s
Monday Night Jazz - 2009
A series of FREE concerts in Bushnell Park, Hartford - Rain Venue
Each followed by a Jam Session at Black-eyed Sally's

Parking for disabled persons is available behind the Pavilion. Since the number of spaces is limited, only cars with either a disability parking permit or a license plate displaying the International Symbol of Access will be admitted.

July 6
6 pm

George Blackman
George Blackman (tenor sax) Curtis Torian (drums) Warren Byrd (piano) Stephen Porter (bass )

7:30 pm
Afro Semitic Experience
Will Bartlett (sax and clarinet) Warren Byrd (piano) Alvin Carter, Jr. (drums) Baba David Coleman (hand drums and percussion) David Chevan (bass) Stacy Phillips (dobro and violin)

July 13
6 pm

Dezron Douglas/Lummie Spann Quintet
Lummie Spann (alto sax) Abraham Burton (tenor sax) Josh Evans (trumpet) Bruce Harris (trumpet) David Bryant (piano) Dezron Douglas (bass) Eric McPherson (drums) Special Guest Alton Douglas (vocals)

7:30 pm
Taeko Fukao & her trio

Taeko Fukao (vocals) Lou Rainone (piano) Gaku Takanashi (Bass) Doug Richardson (drums)
July 20
6 pm

Ed Fast/Conga Bop
Ed Fast (drums/timbales) Jorge Fuentes (conga) Jim Hunt (trumpet) Chris Herbert (tenor sax) Matt Dwonsyk (bass) Jim Campolito (keyboards)

7:30 pm
Michele Rosewoman & Quintessence plus guests

Michele Rosewoman (piano/keyboards) Brad Jones (acoustic/electric bass) Tyshawn Sorey (drums) Loren Stillman (alto / soprano saxophones) Jacob Yoffee (tenor saxophone) Guests: Richard Padron (guitar) Clark Gaton (trombone)

July 27
6 pm

People of Goodwill
Melvin Jackson (flute) Bill Mocarsky (piano/keyboards) Steve Muse (bass) Leon Alexander (congas/percussion) Peter George (drums)

7:30 pm
Jimmy Greene Quintet

Jimmy Greene (tenor/soprano sax) Wayne Escoffrey (tenor/soprano sax) Aaron Goldberg (piano) Stephen Porter (bass) Eric McPherson (drums)

August 3
6 pm
Steve Lord Big Band

Trumpets: Cicci Santucci, John Regan, Frank NiCastro, Gabor Viragh
Trombones: Eddie Bert, Leroy Loomer, Fred Bagnell, Danny Innaimo
Saxes: Ed Mari, John Mills,Tom DeVoe, Rich Theriault, Rick Mraz
Rhythm: Jimmy Argiro, piano; Jeff Wallace, guitar; Lou Boccarelli, bass; Claude Berardi, drums
Vocals: Andrea Niki

7:30 pm

Luis Bonilla/Trombonilla
Luis Bonilla (trombone) Ivan Renta (tenor sax) Arturo O’Farrill (piano) Andy McKee (bass) John Riley (drums)